Saturday, July 13, 2024

Watch Ex-Wycombe boss Gareth Ainsworth’s reaction as England reach the Euros final

Must read

The 51-year-old, who spent nearly 14 years at Adams Park as a player and then manager, was covering the fixture live for Sky Sports News on July 10.

The clash between the Dutch and the Three Lions saw Xavi Simons put Oranje ahead after seven minutes with a fantastic strike, before England captain Harry Kane equalised 11 minutes later with a penalty.

The contest was an even affair with both sides hitting the post, Jordan Pickford made several important saves to keep Gareth Southgate’s side in the tournament, whilst Phil Foden had an attempt blocked on the line.

But on the stroke of 90 minutes, substitute Ollie Watkins buried his shot past Bart Verbruggen to send England into the second Euros final in two tournaments, and their first-ever on foreign soil.

Back in the Sky Sports studios, Ainsworth on the moment that led to the goal said: “I’m sure there’s going to be an opening somewhere.

“There’s going to be a bit of magic from someone.

“Cole Palmer has just put Ollie Watkins in…go on Watkins.”

The Aston Villa man scored from his subsequent shot, which was his fourth goal for England in his 14th appearance.

It was also his first strike for the country away from Wembley Stadium.

After his celebration at the London-based studios, Ainsworth added: “Go on Ollie Watkins! What a goal, in the 90th minute!

“Cole Palmer passes it to Ollie Watkins, he’s on the right-hand side of the penalty area, he turns but it looks like the angle is impossible.

“But he shoots across the keeper and it’s gone into the far stick.

“The Dutch are losing their heads – there are bookings everywhere!

“All the substitutes are on the pitch, what a finish that was!”

The win over Holland means England will play Spain in Sunday’s final in Berlin.

The Three Lions have never won the Euros, losing in two semi-finals (1968 and 1996), and one final (2021).

The Spanish on the other hand have won the competition three times (1964, 2008 and 2012), losing just one semi-final (2021).

Spain are also the only country to win the tournament in back-to-back editions.

Latest article